life ideas

January 15, 2007

HOW TO buy an FJ in Colorado way under MSRP[zz] – 未名空间(mitbbs.com)

Filed under: Uncategorized — manoftoday @ 10:35 pm

 

标  题: HOW TO buy an FJ in Colorado way under MSRP[zz]
发信站: BBS 未名空间站 (Tue Jan  9 14:54:34 2007)
As a former car salesman I kinda understand the breed we call the vultures.
Here are somethings to always keep in mind.
1. Be nice, but be bold. If a buyer comes in and he has a great attitude 
your negotiations will go great.
2. Spend some time calling all the dealers in your state, especially the big
 city guys.
3. Don’t get impatient, be willing to stay away from the dealerships……..
.yea, your heard me right, all negotiations should be done on the phone or 
email. Now, some of you are going to have beef with that, but the salesman 
is going to want you to come down and take a look. Tell them you have 
already test driven and your calling everyone in the state. Would you 
believe I actually had a guy in Boulder dealership tell me. “come in and 
test drive our demo so I can see the buyers glazed over look in your eyes…
.catch the bug” I laughed and said he was good. TAKE YOUR TIME BUT TELL THE 
SALEMAN YOUR BUYING TODAY IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT.
4. Tell as many people as possible, your shopping the entire state by phone 
etc. They will fight for you. I actually would hang up with one saleman and 
call a different one at the same lot and ask him information.
5. Give the saleman your phone number and tell them “call me when you get a 
unit in I’m interested in.
6. KNOW YOUR SH*T, know your invoice and know your msrp. I wrote down a 
price list and speaking guide to go by on the phone. I’m buying, invoice is 
this, I’m shopping the crap out of the entire state, and I’m not paying this
 or that.
7. PUT DEALERSHIPS AGAINST EACH OTHER, I didn’t need anypaper but as soon as
 I mention “well, kinda working a deal with Elway dealership and wanted to 
check and see if I was getting best price, they started dropping all kinda 
money off MSRP adn this and that………….then I would call another lot 
and drop another name until I had 3 dealerships on the line at once making 
me offers……….chuckle…can you believe that. Standing in my liveing 
room and had 3 guys on the line. Each time I switched to the other line I 
would chuckle and say something to the Boulder guy like, man, Elway and 
Stevenson Toyota are going nuts and almost cussing each other.
8. Start a binder of the dealerships your working, who you talked to, what 
they have in stock or are willing to order at what prices, let them know how
 thorough and ANAL retentive you are. The guy that does his homework and is 
moving and shaken the dealerships is the guy to land and sell to.
9. I used lines like, “well, hey, if this deal falls through with Longmont 
Toy and I did decide to ORDER from you, the other dealerships are willing to
 kick me around $500 off MSRP and allow me to buy merchandise at their 
invoice price, are you willing to join this competitive battle if I need to 
order?”. By the way I got my roof rack for under $400. I also would tell 
them, “Ok good, let me just document this date and time tee hee” Thorough 
remember!
10. If you have several dealership wanting your business YOU ARE IN CHARGE 
but remember to be nice and courtious to these guys, even if they do lie….
ha!
11. DO YOUR FINANCING ELSE WHERE, if you have the credit get pre-approval 
from your bank, credit union or Capital ONe online. Tell the saleman, he is 
not waisting his time with a credit dreamer, reassure him your already 
approved and that your talking final price not monthly payments etc….its 
none of his business about how much your laying down or traden in. You may 
need to remind him the rules of your negotiations, YOU WANT FINAL PRICE.
12. As a USEd CAR SALESMAN for many years…………people!……sell your 
car privately, I can’t tell you how much money i made myself and dealership 
off of your trades…its the biggest money maker for the dealership………
JUST DON”T DO IT! Did I say already that used cars and trade ins are what 
keep the lights on at a dealership. Good.
13. Patiently call everyone, I talked to two dealerships in Colorado Springs
 that said they were taking $999 over MSRP on orders and the other 
dealership said $1000 over MSRP on orders (no units on the lots) I chuckled 
and asked them, why would you guys do something so crazy when I’ve got 
dealerships 40 minutes up the road in willing and fighting each other to 
give me $700 under MSRP with no dealer doc fees and the guy told me boldly, 
“we can people are paying it”…………Good luck Colorado Springs!
14. A little more about homework, if you got a stubborn salesman, let him 
know that you are very aware of the PROFIT margin he is getting and mention 
words about dealer holdbacks and that is typically for this area 2-3% of 
MSRP. Holdback is what the dealer gets in addition from the manufacture. I 
figured the dealer holdback on all the cars I was discussing with salesman. 
Let the saleman know you know the the important dates…..and how many units
 where sold when and that we are at the end of a quarter etc……….you 
got to speak his language. FYI so you have the information….let me look it
 up in my Toyota War Manual….I made..
Here it is: Mar 2,784 April 5,649 May 6,670 June 6,366 July 6,309 Let the 
saleman know that you are aware of quarter end is approaching (end of Sept) 
and he needs to move units to get more units.
15. Try this, I heard of one person calling the following TOYOTA number and 
telling them they were having trouble decideing on buying a FJ or a eXterra 
is there any thing you can do to help me decide and the guy at TOYOTA 
replied “Don’t tell the dealer, but well send you a check for $500 dollars 
if you buy in the next 6 months, just send us a copy of your vehicle VIN 
number. Now I did hear someone say it didn’t work for them but here is the 
number anyway, 800-331-4331. Good luck.
16. DON’T ORDER YOUR VEHICLE. I was told by every dealership to order or buy
 a unit I didn’t want off the lot. Even as I sit here now, I have had 2 
dealerships call me and tell me they have something for me. I’ve only been 
doing this a week and half, bought two days ago and my phone has been 
ringing off the hook with saleman selling FJ’s. Why order, these guys are 
pulling FJ’s out there butts.
&*^*&^ *&^*&^* &^* Ok, I want to highlight this cause I was told this by a 
saleman in Denver, “why wouldn’t I sell you a new unit someone else has 
ordered, I’ve got there money, I’ve already sold you a vehicle, they are on 
a list and you are shopping the state????” Yes, can you believe that! He was
 offering me some poor souls long ordered FJ cause he was just going to tell
 that guy “sorry your FJ is not in yet!” and sell it to me so I wouldn’t go 
buy at John Elways dealership. THey are out for blood.
17. In the first 3 days I couldn’t find anything on any of the lots, I would
 tell each person what I wanted, what invoice was and what MSRP was then I 
would tell them to call me. The past week I’ve had atleast 1 unit available 
to me and to negotiate. DO NOT ORDER THESE VEHICLES be patient.
NOW HERE IS MY WAR BOOK NOTES ON DEALERSHIPS:
Bighorn Toy; Glennwood Springs Jeff Simon, will order $100 below MSRP but 
wont budge on dealer doc fees of $199
Boulder Toy; these guys are desperate to kill John Elway in sales, will do 
good business deals with you, almost a little desperate which is good. $500 
below MSRP and will wave $399 dealer fees
Burt Toy, Talk with Amy ROdgers she is a mover and shaker, extremely nice, I
 wish she had something for me to buy from but she didn’t, she was willing 
to do $500-$1000 off MSRP……..she seemed very honest too, not your 
typical salesman.
Ehrlich Toy; Greeley, doesn’t know when units are comming in and not really 
that interested in dealing over the phone, removed personality but can’t 
remember who I talked to.
John Elway Toyota; Denver, movers and shakers, I had two different salesman 
on the phone at same time discussing same vehicle, this was fun and 
challengeing at same time and educational to see what the difference was on 
the same vin # but also willing to go $500 off MSRP and wave dealer ffees.
STAY OUT OF COLORADO SPRINGS!!!!!
Longmont Toy, Ron **** very nice, seems honest and I didn’t catch him in any
 lies like many of the others. No dealer doc fees!!!!! Period, I asked why 
he said we get a good profit margin selling them at MSRP or below.
Mountain States, Denver, Ralph Haddad, willing to deal slightly below MSRP 
but couldn’t get him to budge on dealer doc fees of $349 did get him to 
allow me to buy roof rack at their cost etc. I didn’t buy there though cause
 they didn’t have units on the ground.
Stevenson Toy West, Lakewood, Migual or STeve roberts, just mention John 
Elway or Boulder Toy, Mountain States and they are ready to deal deal deal, 
but still wouldn’t let go of their $399 doc fees, where willing to go $700 
under MSRP but I had to arm wrestle them.
So there it is folks, put dealers against each other, don’t talk montly 
payments or financing, trade ins until you have a bottom line price. Be nice
, know your product, know what you want and don’t be shy………more 
importantly don’t get that glazed over look in your eyes when you see or 
test drive an FJ these is the first sign the salesman can take you hook line
 and sinker. As a former salesman, If I saw a smirk on your face or chuckle 
when you saw your dream car sitting on the lot……….I started high and 
knew you’d pay it.
Best of luck and have fun with this, you can say no or good bye.
Scotty V.
PS Oh sorry, buy the way, I got $1000 off MSRP, $299 doc fees waved and roof
 rack at dealer cost.
__________________
Scotty V.
Breckenridge Colorado

Source: HOW TO buy an FJ in Colorado way under MSRP[zz] – 未名空间(mitbbs.com)

4 Comments »

  1. Comment by Dominic — March 15, 2008 @ 10:35 am

  2. Comment by Heel — March 15, 2008 @ 12:58 pm

  3. Comment by Halo — March 16, 2008 @ 11:53 am

  4. Comment by Neo — March 17, 2008 @ 9:36 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

